team-up thursday: america

o! say does that star-spangled banner yet wave o’er the land of the free and the home of the brave

Decided to go with the America theme this week since the 4th was Sunday. Erika’s photo is another stunning capture – love the focus and I know she has enjoyed experimenting with her new Lensbaby (yes, I’m now coveting one).

My shot is of a tradition that has been going on for years. And when I say years, I’m talking decades. My grandparents have had a 4th of July picnic in the neighborhood where my dad grew up for over 50 years. It’s a time when all the kids that grew up on the block get together… and now their kids, grand kids, and some great-grandkids are taking part of it as well. To kick off the picnic, my cousin sings the National Anthem, the kids march in waving their little flags and someone walks in and hangs the big flag on the garage. This year my grandfather (my dear Pappaw) rode in on his kickin’ scooter accompanied by my brother. Pappaw served in the Army in WWII (Guadalcanal) and my brother is a Marine and did 2 tours in Afghanistan (Operation Enduring Freedom). So proud of them both!

It’s something I look forward to every year and why my immediate family makes the long trek from GA to MO to attend. Some people say we’re insane but they just haven’t had a chance to experience this event. There’s so much more to the day… food, conversations, libations of all sorts, a huge horseshoe tournament, fireworks and finishing the night off with some greasy burgers from Hayes. Oh how I love this day!

God bless America

Leave a comment

Filed under team-up thursday

Leave a Reply

