i sing the pablo song!

The youngest nephew, Gavin, turned 3 a few days ago & I got a chance to do my interview with him this weekend. I wasn’t sure how this one would go since he’s so young but it was a funny experience. You’ll see…

Gavin, did you have a birthday?
YE-E-E-E-S!

How old are you now?
I’m 3!
You are? Can you show me how many?

When you’re 3 do you go to school?
No, I go to school when I’m 2
(makes sense – school’s out for the summer & he was 2 when it was school time)

Who was in your class at school?
Landon
Is he your buddy? Your best friend?
Yes! But Landon’s not here.
You’re right, Landon’s not here right now.

What to you like to play with Landon?
We play toys.
What kind of toys? Do you play with trains?
Yeah, I have airplanes too.

What’s your favorite color?
Green!
Kelsey’s favorite color is green
(at this, there was much protesting from his sister)
What is really Kelsey’s favorite color?
PINK!
(and all is right in his sister’s world again)

What do you like to eat?
Macaroni & cheese
What else?
chips!

Did you have fun at your birthday?
Yes! But it’s not my birthday

What kind of cake did you have?
Lightning cake
(Lightning McQueen, of course)
Who else was on your cake?
Mater!
Was it yummy?
Yes, I did eat it. Aunt Stacy, you eat cake too?
Yes, Gavin, I ate some cake too.

Knock knock.
Who’s there?
Santa
Santa, who?
PEANUT BUTTER JELLY!
(this is one of his favorite jokes. gotta love the 3 yr old humor)

What’s your favorite color, Aunt Stacy?
(hey, I thought I was doing this interview)
My favorite color? My favorite color is red
Your favorite color is black. HA HA HA HA!
(this kid is seriously cracking me up)

Hey Gavin,  what do you like to play with Daddy?
Play
But things to you do with Daddy? Do you play soccer?
Yes! I play soccer with Daddy

What do you like to do with Mommy?
I play toys with Mommy!

What about Kelsey? What do you like to play with your sister?
Play toys

Do you have a favorite song?
Pablo song!
(The Backyardigans theme song – he loves Pablo)
The Pablo song? But what songs do you like to sing?
I sing the Pablo song!
No, I mean what songs do you sing at bedtime?
CD player songs
(I have a motive here & he’s not taking the bait, sheesh)
Do you sing Row Row?
No. Pablo song!
Do you sing Jesus Loves Me?
No. Pablo song!
Do you sing Baa Baa Black Sheep?
No. Pablo song!
(at this final answer, he has a huge grin on his face & knows he’s playing me)

Do you have a favorite show you like to watch? (let me guess…)
Pablo!

Do you have any friends you sleep with at night?
Yes. Pablo and Bear & blanket

Hey Gavin, what did we make when I came over to babysit?
I don’t know
Can you remember? It was blue and green.
Blue and green!
Yes, those were the colors. Was it a caterpillar?
YES! We made a caterpillar.
Can I come over and make something again?
No.
I can’t?
Yes, you can.
Thanks 🙂

Related: He tripped later that evening and I asked him if he was broken. He said, “No, Jesus made me!”
And you can’t ask for a better answer than that. ♥

Leave a comment

Filed under family, from the mouths of babes

Leave a Reply

