it’s a messy but wonderful life

it's a messy but wonderful life

When I bought my house 5 years ago, the thought of waking up alone on Christmas morning was a bit… well… intimidating and had the potential for sending me into the throes of depression. I think the ‘rents could sense it and offered up the spare room Christmas Eve if I wanted it but I put my big girl pants on and politely declined. That year I decided to be a grown-up and start my own Christmas morning tradition. 5 years now and here’s what it looks like. ♥

First: sleeping in. Yep. No alarm, just waking up whenever the heck I feel like it (which is around 7:30 or 8 at first but I just roll right on over and catch a few more zzz’s – I’m sure my friends with kids are a bit jealous of this one). When I finally rise from my slumber, I turn on the Christmas tree. There’s nothing like the soft glow of all those twinkly lights to put me in the holiday mood. Then to the kitchen to start the java and pop Dad’s homemade cinnamon rolls in the oven. {Side note: my Dad rocks. He makes a batch for each of us and brings them to the Christmas Eve service so we’ll have them to enjoy Christmas morning} The scents in my kitchen that take over the house: coffee brewing… cinnamon, sugar & butter bubbling over gooey dough… pure sweet heavenly goodness. Once the coffee is done, the rolls are out of the oven and topped with icing, I head to the living room. All snuggled up on the couch in a fuzzy blanket eating my sugary breakfast then I push play on the remote and It’s A Wonderful Life begins. My all-time favorite Christmas movie. George Bailey, Mary, Uncle Billy, old man Potter, and Clarence – they’re like old friends and their story is one I know like the back of my hand. If you’ve never seen it, shame on you – you’re missing out on a great flick.  Trust me when I say you have to watch it all the way through. Don’t pull a ‘Phoebe’ and quit half way… remember that episode of Friends? “They should have called it ‘It’s a sucky life and just when you think it can’t suck any more, it does’ “. But Monica had said: “See? Wonderfulness baked right in. you can’t go wrong.” She was right. Just see it through to the end – it’ll be worth it. I cry without fail. Happy tears.

One of my favorite lines: “A toast: to my big brother George – the richest man in town!” (this is the line that brings me to tears e.v.e.r.y.t.i.m.e.) And it gets me to thinking about my own life and the many blessings in it. I don’t deserve any of it. At all. We all know that life is full of ups and downs. I can easily get wrapped up in the things I don’t have or things that have gone wrong. My own little pity parties that carry on way too long. And sometimes it takes just a little perspective – a step back to see the big picture – to see that the good far outweighs the bad. That is when gratitude overwhelms me.

I am thankful for…
… a God whose love is unfailing and shows grace beyond measure
… to be living in the greatest country on earth
… a home
… a job and employers that are like family
… people far and wide I am blessed to call friends
… 3 of the best girlfriends in the world
… family that is abounding in their love and support
… nieces & nephews that come running for hugs & kisses (and gum, of course)
… and so many other things too numerous to name

When I look at all of these things, I can’t help but feel incredibly blessed. I hope you can take a moment this holiday season to look around you, find many things to be thankful for, and realize it really is a wonderful life even when it’s messy.

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Remember: No man is a failure who has friends. – Clarence

6 Comments

Filed under family, friends, life

6 responses to “it’s a messy but wonderful life

  1. what a beautiful post, stacy. just what i needed to hear!

  2. Amy

    I love this Stacy. Best Christmas post I’ve read today!

  3. Sounds like a wonderful Christmas to me!! Beautiful!!!

    Merry Christmas!

  4. Jen

    Love it, Stacy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

