tap…tap…tap… is this thing on?

Have you seen me?

silhouette

Missing: blogger, photog, aunt with gum

Remember me? The short girl who always has gum in her bag and a camera in her hand? Oh yeah, and that posted on this blog more than once a month? Yep, I’m still on the face of the earth in case you thought I had fallen off of it.

To be honest, I’ve lost my blogging mojo. And my photo editing mojo. I think that the editing thing is the real culprit for my lack of motivation at all. I have 2 SD cards filled to the brim with images and I just can’t bring myself to download them. The task is too overwhelming. Too daunting and makes me want to curl up in the corner in a fetal position. It’s really absurd to be afraid of a small piece of plastic and some photos. I know this. In the grand scheme of things it’s so minor and meaningless but it’s where I am right now. I keep thinking if I ignore it long enough it’ll go away or fix itself. Can anyone relate? (meet my best friend these days: Denial)

I can’t see you… so you can’t see me. So there.

Here I am on the cusp of bidding adieu to my 30s and thinking I need to get my act together. Oh yeah, can you believe that? It freaks me out a little because I don’t feel like a grown up yet. I still like to eat Frankenberry (when I can find it) and Lucky Charms. Do grown ups do that? (if not, don’t tell me. remember how much i love living in denial) Weird thing is I’m kind of looking forward to what the next decade will bring. And that is an odd feeling since I cried on my 30th. In fact, I cried the day I turned 29 just knowing I’d be 30 in a year. How sad is that? So anticipating what’s to come is completely foreign to me.

Bring it on, 40… let’s see what you’ve got.

Now it’s time to put those big girl panties on, grab those memory cards and face that ridiculous fear.

Tomorrow.

Maybe.

3 Comments

Filed under life

3 responses to “tap…tap…tap… is this thing on?

  1. Hope you can get back to regular blogging I have missed you!!

  2. Does it help to hear that we missed you? I wondered where you were! Hmmmm. Turning 40! That’s a big one, until you get my age and turn 60, then you’re not as easily overwhelmed. I don’t have time to get stuck in my tracks. LOL! Take a big swallow, a deep breath and smile! Enjoy the fact that you have lots of time to do it all yet, so don’t be in a rush. And sometimes getting overwhelmed has a lot to do with perfectionism. You don’t want to be perfect…you’d make the rest of us look bad! 🙂 Come on back! You can do it!! Debra

Leave a Reply

